(Sign In)

States › New York › Seneca County


County Office Building
1 DiPronio Drive
Waterloo, NY 13165-1680
Phone: (315) 539-1800
Fax: (315) 539-9479
www.co.seneca.ny.us

Auction Type: Tax Deed
Bidding Method: Bid up

Tax Sale Overview:


If Seneca county, New York is unable to collect real estate property taxes they are also unable to provide important government services like police protection, public schooling and medical services.

Unpaid property taxes create a serious cashflow problem for Seneca county, New York.

Property taxes that are delinquent are added to any previously uncollected taxes on a parcel of Seneca county. Parcels whose taxes are subject to sale will be advertised in a Seneca county newspaper of general circulation. They are listed by sequence number. Parcels fall into 1 of 2 groups. Each group is sorted by parcel number.

The advertisement appears about three to six weeks before the Seneca county tax sale auction and is also posted on the Internet.

To solve this problem Seneca county, New York allows investors to pay off these taxes. In exchange the investor receives the Seneca county, New York lien for taxes. A tax lien is simply a claim for delinquent taxes.

Why would investors do this?

Well, depending on New York laws and competition, savvy Seneca county tax sale investors can realize high-yielding returns with New York tax lien certificates and/or purchase real estate for a fraction of its true market value with New York tax deeds.

Elected Public Officials:


Name:  Position:  Email: 
Robert Shipley Jr.Chair, Board of Supervisorsrshipley@co.seneca.ny.us
Patricia AmidonTown Supervisor 
David DresserTown Supervisor 
Brayton FosterTown Supervisor, District Covert 
David KaiserTown Supervisor, District Romulusromulus@rochester.rr.com
Chuck LaflerTown Supervisor 
James MooneyTown Supervisor 
J. Barry O'NeillTown Supervisor, District Lodi 
Richard RicciTown Supervisor, District Seneca Fa 
Peter SameTown Supervisor, District Seneca Fapsame@seneca24.net
Dale SmithTown Supervisor, District Junius 
Joan TeicherTown Supervisor 
Fred TricklerTown Supervisor 
Richard SwinehartDistrict Attorneyrswinehart@co.seneca.ny.us
Leo ConnollySherifflconnolly@co.seneca.ny.us
Nicholas SciottiCounty Treasurernsciotti@co.seneca.ny.us
Edward BartoFinance Director, District Fayetteseylea@aol.com
Christina LotzCounty Clerkclotz@co.seneca.ny.us

Please contact the county to get the most current information. To report any errors, updates, deletions or additions click here.


AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DE | FL | GA | HI | IA | ID | IL | IN | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY