(Sign In)

States › Tennessee › Carter County

County Courthouse
801 Elk Avenue
Elizabethton, TN 37643-4537
Phone: (423) 542-1801

Auction Type: Tax Deed Redeemable
Bidding Method: Premium Bid

Tax Sale Overview:

If Carter county, Tennessee is unable to collect real estate property taxes they are also unable to provide important government services like police protection, public schooling and medical services.

Unpaid property taxes create a serious cashflow problem for Carter county, Tennessee.

Property taxes that are delinquent are added to any previously uncollected taxes on a parcel of Carter county. Parcels whose taxes are subject to sale will be advertised in a Carter county newspaper of general circulation. They are listed by sequence number. Parcels fall into 1 of 2 groups. Each group is sorted by parcel number.

The advertisement appears about three to six weeks before the Carter county tax sale auction and is also posted on the Internet.

To solve this problem Carter county, Tennessee allows investors to pay off these taxes. In exchange the investor receives the Carter county, Tennessee lien for taxes. A tax lien is simply a claim for delinquent taxes.

Why would investors do this?

Well, depending on Tennessee laws and competition, savvy Carter county tax sale investors can realize high-yielding returns with Tennessee tax lien certificates and/or purchase real estate for a fraction of its true market value with Tennessee tax deeds.

Elected Public Officials:

Name:  Position:  Email: 
R. Dale FairCounty Mayor 
William ArmstrongCommissioner, District 8 
Roscoe BaylessCommissioner, District 5 
Jo Ann BlankenshipCommissioner 
Thomas BowersCommissioner 
Jackson BucklesCommissioner 
Douglas BucklesCommissioner 
Robert DavisCommissioner 
Lawrence HodgeCommissioner 
Wayne HoltsclawCommissioner, District 2 
John LewisCommissioner 
Steve LowrenceCommissioner 
Albert MeehanCommissioner 
Roy MerrymanCommissioner, District 8 
Terry MontgomeryCommissioner, District 6 
Phillip NaveCommissioner, District 4 
Jerry PearmanCommissioner 
Richard RenfroCommissioner, District 5 
John SnyderCommissioner 
Amos StevensCommissioner 
David TesterCommissioner 
Roger TiptonCommissioner 
Jeffrey TreadwayCommissioner, District 7 
Jim WhaleyCommissioner 
Joe WoodsCommissioner 
John HensonSheriff 
Jack PerkinsHighway Chief Admin Officer 
Randal LewisTrustee 
Gerald HollyAssessor of Property 
Mary GougeCounty Clerk 
Johnny HolderRegister of Deeds 
Charlotte McKeehanClerk & Master 

Please contact the county to get the most current information. To report any errors, updates, deletions or additions click here.

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DE | FL | GA | HI | IA | ID | IL | IN | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY