There are 10 Counties in New Hampshire. It became the 9th state on June 21, 1788. The state motto is "Live free or die".
Currently, New Hampshire does not offer New Hampshire tax lien certificates, instead it offers New Hampshire tax deeds.
Summary: Local tax collectors lead public auctions to sell properties having delinquent real estate property taxes (Sec. 80:20, Sec. 80:24). To purchase, the minimum bid is the amount of past due real estate property taxes, together with interest, penalties, and costs. Any town or county or the state may be a purchaser at any sale of lands for the payment of taxes (Sec. 80:26).
Law: New Hampshire Revised Statutes, Title V, Chapter 80, "Collection of Taxes."
Tax Sale List: Use New Hampshire Tax Sale Lists to search for New Hampshire tax lien certificates to buy or bid on. Generally most New Hampshire tax sale lists will identify the property owner, parcel number, legal description and the amount due. In some cases, the tax sale list may include the tax collectors assessed value of the property.
Contact: The Local Tax Collector (Sec. 80:20).
Interest Rate: N/A.
Auction Type: Tax Deed (Sec. 80:27, Sec. 80:38) The sale shall be held in some public place in town where the land is situate and between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. but, if necessary, the sale may be adjourned from day to day, not exceeding 3 days by proclamation made at the place of the sale within the hours stated in this section (Sec. 80:24).
Bidding Procedure: Every such sale shall be at auction for the percentage of the common and undivided interest in the whole property that a bidder is willing to offer for the unpaid tax, interest and costs due thereon (Sec. 80:24).
Costs: Purchaser must pay the costs of advertising the sale and notice to the mortgagees (Sec. 80:27, Sec. 80:28, Sec. 80:30, and Sec. 80:43), plus a $2.00 fee for the payment of all subsequent delinquent property taxes (Sec. 80:37); all such costs and fees are recoverable upon being redeemed. For each deed made and delivered to the purchaser at a tax sale, $5, to be paid by the purchaser (Sec. 80:43)
Redemption Period: N/A.
Deed assigned at Foreclosure to: Tax Deed purchaser. At least 30 days prior to executing the deed under RSA 80:38, the tax collector shall notify the current owner of the property or his representative or executor, by certified mail, return receipt requested, of the impending deeding. The cost of this notice shall be added to the existing tax lien (Sec. 80:38).
|County:||Auction Type:||Bidding Type:||Population:|
|Belknap||Tax Deed||Bid up||56,325|
|Carroll||Tax Deed||Bid up||43,666|
|Cheshire||Tax Deed||Bid up||73,825|
|Coos||Tax Deed||Bid up||33,111|
|Grafton||Tax Deed||Bid up||81,743|
|Hillsborough||Tax Deed||Bid up||380,841|
|Merrimack||Tax Deed||Bid up||136,225|
|Rockingham||Tax Deed||Bid up||277,359|
|Strafford||Tax Deed||Bid up||112,233|
|Sullivan||Tax Deed||Bid up||40,458|
To report any updates, deletions or additions to the county list, please click here.
AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DE | FL | GA | HI | IA | ID | IL | IN | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY